Home > Excel VBA Resources > Essential material for Excel VBA RAD Development

Essential material for Excel VBA RAD Development

I have been doing Excel VBA RAD ( Rapid Application Development) for over 4 years now, and I thought it would be useful to list all of the most useful resources that I have found over the years in one post.   I guess as much for my own benefit as for other readers.

Print :

Excel Development:

Professional Excel Development:

This has to be “The Bible” of all professional Excel developers.  I am being quite bold in this claim.  I have had people ask me about this book in interviews quite often.  I anyone can lay claim to knowing of a better book, I would love to know!

Professional Excel Development: The Definitive Guide to Developing Applications Using Microsoft Excel and VBA

New Version:

Professional Excel Development: The Definitive Guide to Developing Applications Using Microsoft Excel, VBA, and .NET: The Definitive Guide to … and VBA

Bill Jelen – “Mr Excel”

Bill Jelen – “Mr Excel”  has a few books out.   I have :  VBA and Macros for Microsoft Excel (Business Solutions)

Financial Knowledge:

I am also coming at this from a Finance angle too so I will include some books to get below.  I  think finance is one of the best places ( read: most interesting and well paid ) to practice professional Excel development.  I think some geology and telecoms work is also available.  I’ll have to do some research and find out.  Comments welcome from people in these industries!

I would say that in this competetive market if you don’t know the products then it will be very much more difficult to get work.  So readig through some of the below will be very useful, and also be quite likely to lead to you doing more interesting and rewarding work in the future.

Liar’s Poker: Playing the Money Markets

I am starting with a light hearted one, but I have just re-read this while on a short holiday before starting my contract and I can say it managages to be a brilliant page turner, an insight into the Investment Banking world ( although as it was in the past ) and also quite informative.    As written to be a best seller if possible Michael Lewis takes time to explain the terms used and also how and why certain products came into existance.  It is also uncanny in its constant warning of the power of these new mortgage and credit derivatives and their potential to go wrong.  It seems very relevant even 20 years on.

Paul Wilmott Introduces Quantitative Finance

Although labelled as an introduction this is not a ‘Quantative Finance for Dummies’ type introduction (  I must check to see if this exists in Amazon!).  It is meant for Economic / Financial Maths Bachelors / Masters students as a primer so will be more than enough for most RAD Development needs.

Options, Futures, and Other Derivatives (Prentice Hall Series in Finance)

This book is mega dry but it *will* contain pretty much everything that you could want to know as a developer.  It will even stand up to desk side usage if you land that sort of role.

I have newly created an Amazon associate account so if you are thinking of buying any of the Excel books I have listed, please use the links as it will allow me to perhaps get enough credits to buy some more of my own that I need, and review for people!

Web :

http://www.mrexcel.com/  – I first came into contact with this site via his Podcast on iTunes, but the site has a very useful forum.  At first from the podcast it is tempting to dismiss this as mainly a resource for a ‘power user’ of Excel rather than a fully fledged Excel developer, but I think this is a great site.  I also have a few of his books that I will post in the Print section too.

http://www.cpearson.com/ – I don’t think anyone who has developed Excel for any length of time and has access to Google with a question will be able to say that they have not stumbled across this site at one time or another!   Normally searching for something new or that may have slipped the memory temporarily will lead to an artticle here : http://www.cpearson.com/Excel/ExcelPages.aspx

Blogs:

http://xldennis.wordpress.com/2009/05/19/the-2nd-edition-of-professional-excel-development-ped-is-available/

.

 

Categories: Excel VBA Resources
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

