Home > Uncategorized > Further Excel VBA RAD Interview Questions

Further Excel VBA RAD Interview Questions

I had an interview today.  I didn’t do all that well at all and I got a little bit schooled.

This always seems to happen on my first technical interview with any serious technical ‘harrasment’.  I also have a load of knowledge tucked away in my brain, none of which the guy wanted to know about sadly.

Here are the things he did want to know about that I really got flustered and couldn’t answer.  Embarrasingly I gave myself an 8 out of 10, when I actually performed like a 5.5.  I think he rated himself as an 8, and then quite easily proceeded to destroy me. 😦  boo.

So… back to the hard core technical stuff for me as I spent too long this week on the finance side and not enough on the actual RAD side, silly me.

Ranges:  How do you create a range that will grow as and when data is enetered into it.

  • Name the 5 types of join on a database
  • how can I get a range to grow when data is added ( VBA & Excel)
  • How can I change the Last Used cell in Excel.
  • C++ pointers
  • Basic C# questions.

Ooh, and make sure that you can eloquently discuss the previous projects you have had on your CV.  Especially be prepared to get right into the nitty gritty.  I was silly enough to let information like the usings and data types etc I was using in one of my projects I only stopped working on about 8 months ago.  Not great either.

If I have a column with data in it.

ab

cd

ef

and I want to add in another item of data, but have the range grow.  What can I do.

5 Types of Join – I was going to write the answer in here, but now I realise that what I need to do… is have a post dediected to SQL.  Any decent RAD developer is going to have to dig around in a database from time to time.  I think the problem I had is that I let the info go too stale, and didn’t keep on top of it.  I mean sure I seriously believe 100% I could do the job.  I would merely look in w3schools / Wikipedia for a few minutes and then be away and fine.  However… interviews just aren’t like that.  You need a decent answer, confident and concise right there, at the time to give the person that warm fuzzy glow that gets one hired.

Snippet :

Here are the first few things I selected to look at.   A simple glance over these for 30-90 mins before the interview would  have given me a massive boost in the interview:

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/sql_join.asp

http://www.tomjewett.com/dbdesign/dbdesign.php?page=jointypes.php

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Join_%28SQL%29

Summary ( for my own revision )

Dynamic Ranges:

http://www.ozgrid.com/Excel/DynamicRanges.htm

Last Used Cell:

Run a small macro.. ActiveSheet.UsedRange.   Or you can do this in the Immediate window if you don’t want it to be anywhere in the code.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

