Home > Uncategorized > G Challenge II – Roman Numerals

G Challenge II – Roman Numerals

Ok, in quick sucession here is another G Challenge.  I think this one might be a bit of a stinker though!

II  (2) ;p   Functions that can be called from Excel to convert a number to its Roman equivalent, and also back from Roman to Normal.

So :

2010 -> MMX

Too easy… ?

231241 -> ccxxxMCCXLI

I have yet to attempt this myself as I normally set challenges from something I have had to do in the past I have found tricky.  This came from me choosing to put the challenge number as II not 2, and it popped into my head!

Edit:  I *know* that ROMAN() exists but that only goes up to 3999, and I am interpreting this as ‘classic’ numerals.    I think having looked at it that this is a massive challenge for a learner, but I have posted it now and we can always come back to it.   I’ll need something more sympathetic for GC III

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

